Russia bans more airlines from airspace –

MOSCOW (ANP/RTR/DPA) – Airlines from Bulgaria, Czech Republic and Poland are no longer allowed to fly through Russian airspace. The move follows similar sanctions those countries have imposed in reverse against Russian airlines. This was reported by the Russian aviation authorities.

Meanwhile, Estonia announced it would no longer tolerate Russian aircraft in its airspace. A draft decision on this action will already be in preparation. Estonia called on other countries in the European Union to do the same. “Airplanes from pariah states have no place in democratic airspace,” Estonian Prime Minister Kaja Kallas wrote on Facebook. “The West must isolate Russia both economically and politically.”

Earlier this week, Russia also banned all British airlines from Russian airspace. The move was in turn retaliation for London’s ban on flights from Russia’s Aeroflot to the UK.

As far as is known, many European airlines, including KLM, still fly through Russian airspace and into Russian airports. Latvian airline airBaltic decided for safety reasons not to fly to Russia for at least a month. According to the company, there is an increased risk due to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, a statement said.

Astrid Marshman

"Hipster-friendly creator. Music guru. Proud student. Bacon buff. Avid web lover. Social media specialist. Gamer."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.