J.D.FENNEL Releases Debut Book | Sleeper

 J.D.FENNEL Releases Debut Book | Sleeper

“Fast-paced young adult novel is first of adventure trilogy featuring teen agent Will Starling”

Local author J.D.Fennell is pleased to announce the release of his novel ‘Sleeper’. The fast-paced and thrilling debut is the first of an adventure trilogy, featuring agent Will Starling- perfect for fans of Alex Rider and Jason Bourne. The book is published by The Dome Press and is available from 28 April 2017.

‘Sleeper’ follows the journey of sixteen-year old Will Starling in 1941; pulled from the sea with no memory of the past. In his blazer is a strange notebook with a bullet lodged inside: a bullet meant for him. As London prepares for the Blitz, Will soon finds himself pursued by vicious agents and a ruthless killer known as the Pastor.

As Will’s memory begins to return, he realizes he is no ordinary sixteen-year-old. He has skills that make him a match for any assassin. But there is something else. At his core is a deep-rooted rage that he cannot explain. Where is his family and why has no one reported him missing?

Fighting for survival with the help of Mi5 agent-in-training Anna Wilder, and Government agent and mentor, Eoin Heaney, a Belfast man, WW1 and Easter Rising veteran, Will follows leads across London in a race against time to save lives and understand his past.

Author J.D.Fennell was born in Belfast at the start of the Troubles and began writing stories to help understand the madness unfolding around him. From a young age he buried himself in a diverse range of book- his early influences include Fleming, Tolkien, Shakespeare and the Brontës.

J.D. Fennell comments “Growing up in Belfast, I spent a lot of my youth in libraries in the Falls Road, Linen Hall and Glengormley. I buried myself in books and was encouraged to write to help make sense of the spiraling sectarian madness that seemed forever present. In writing, I found solace and a form of expression. This is something that I have passionately pursued into adulthood with the publication of my debut novel ‘Sleeper’ “.

He left Belfast at the age of nineteen and worked as a chef, bartender, and waiter and later began a career in writing in the software industry. He wanted to learn more about his craft and in 2013 he graduated from the University of Sussex with an MA in Creative Writing.

In his spare time J.D loves to read, cook, travel and talk about books and writing. He is a passionate supporter of Irish rugby and has played second-row for Brighton. J.D. lives in Brighton with his partner and their two dogs. He is working on his second novel.

‘Sleeper’ is available from Waterstones and Amazon. We can accept orders at info@thedomepress.com.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *